The Brihanmumbai Mahanagar Palika (formerly the Bombay Municipal Corporation) or the Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai is the civic body that governs the city of Mumbai (Bombay). It is India‘s richest municipal organisation. Its annual budget is even more than that of some of the small states of India.Established under the Bombay Municipal Corporation Act, 1888, it is responsible for the civic infrastructure and administration of the city and some suburbs of Mumbai.


Its motto, (Sanskrit: Yato Dharmastato Jaya or, Where there is Righteousness, there shall be Victory) is inscribed on the banner of its Coat of Arms. Built in the Indo Saracenic style of architecture the BMC, as it is more popularly known, is the largest civic organisation in the country, and administers an area of 603 km².

The BMC is responsible for administering and providing basic infrastructure to the city.

  • Building and Maintenance of roads, streets and flyovers.
  • Public Municipal schools
  • Water purification and supply
  • Public health and Hospitals
  • Street lighting
  • Maintenance of parks and open spaces
  • Sewage treatment and disposal
  • Garbage disposal and street cleanliness
  • Aiding in prevention of epidemic outbreaks through mass production of medicines at the Haffkine Institute.
  • Cemeteries and Crematoriums
  • Registering of births and deaths.
  • Lighthouses
  • Removal of Encroachments
  • Markets,Shops and Establishments
  • Security




The corporation is headed by a Municipal commissioner, an IAS officer. He wields the executive power of the house. A quinquennial election is held to elect corporators to power. They are responsible for overseeing that their constituencies have the basic civic infrastructure in place, and that there is no lacuna on the part of the authorities. The mayor (a largely ceremonial post with limited duties) heads the party with the largest vote.


The BMC is responsible for most of Mumbai’s territory. Their realm extends from Colaba in the south to Mulund and Dahisar in the north. Some regions such as Defence lands, Mumbai Port Trust lands and the Borivali National Park area are out of their jurisdiction. The city is subdivided into alphabetical wards, from A to R. Each ward has own ward office which oversees its territory. The headquarters of the civic administration are in South Mumbai opposite the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus.

Marathi in Office

On 24 June 2008, Mayor Shubha Raul passed a proposal mooted by municipal commissioner Jairaj Phatak to conduct all administrative business in the BMC only in Marathi.

See also

External links

Powai falls under S ward no.115 and 116.

The contact numbers are

S Ward: 25641220 to 25641224

The details of the Corporators are

Ward No Name of the Corporator Area covered by the ward Party Contact Numbers
115  Charu Sharma Eden bunglows-tirandaz village NCP 9820093927 / 25795461
116 Anjali Darade Vihar Lake – Powai Lake – Passpoli Village Congress 9833670575 / 25926376